Sew Happy It’s the Weekend!

February 12, 2011 at 8:38 pm Leave a comment

It was a nice quite Saturday and I thought that it would be a perfect time to finish up my second project, the pleated skirt.  I had already cut out the pattern but nothing else, so the first thing I needed to do was cut out the peices of fabric.  I laid the pattern paper on the fabric according to the insturctions.  After pinning it down to the fabric I started cutting.

 Cutting on the lines:)

There were several lines on the patter indicating where the pleats were going to be so I used pins to mark those spots.  After cutting out the pieces, I began making the pleats.  There were 3 separate pleats on the front and back panels.  I pinned them in place and did some quick stitching on top to keep them in place until I put on the waistband.

 Look at those pretty pleats!

Next came the waist band which wasn’t very hard.  It consisted of two side sewn together to make a double sided band.  The two were sewn so all I had to do was fold one back into the skirt to make the perfect edge at the top.  Then I had to tack the other side down.  The pattern called it stitiching in the ditch:)

Stitch in the Ditch

Now the only things left to do was add a zipper and hem the bottom of the skirt.  I absolutely hate zippers I have such a hard time with the buggers, but this time it wasn’t hard at all.  It must have been that I was actually following the instructions at this point.  Usually, I am so feed up at this point in a sewing project that I just rush through it and it does not come out like it was supposed to.  The moral of the story is to take your time and read the insturctions.

Zipper Time!

Lastly I had to do the hem.  I took the time to press it down so it was perfect before throwing it on the sewing machine.

And then I was done!  And the verdict…

This picture does not do it justice.

It fit and it looks great despite the picture quality. I’ll have to get a new picture that really shows it off.

Now I just have to figure out what is next on the project agenda.

Entry filed under: Projects, Sewing. Tags: , , .

Quick Craft #1 Heart Felt

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Current Project

Project #2: Pleated Skirt

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


