Project #2: Pleated Skirt

February 7, 2011 at 10:23 pm Leave a comment

Now that I am finally finished with project #1: Baby Blanket I can finally move on to my next project.  Project #2 is going to be a Pleated Skirt.  I bought the fabric, which I absolutely love at Wal-Mart for only $1.50 a yard.  Not knowing what I was going to do with it I bought 3 yards.  This was several weeks ago before I swore off buying more craft stuff so I am in the clear on that one, not like the flea market bump in the road.  So here is the pattern and fabric I am going to use for this project:

I love the purple, black and gold in the fabric.  I purchased a basic pattern so I could adjust it how I saw fit.  The biggest thing in buying a pattern for clothing is to make sure you check the measurements.  Just because you are a size 8 in regular clothing does not mean that the pattern for a size 8 will fit you.  It might be a size 12, it all depends on the measurements.  I bought a larger pattern because I know my measurements.  Plus, it is easier to take in the item of clothing than to make it bigger, trust me!  So when going out to look for a pattern measure first so you get a pattern that will fit you because the might have a pattern that fits a size 4, 6, 8 in one and a size 10, 12, 14 in another.  So measure yourself or who ever the garment is for.

So my first set for project 2 is to cut out the pattern.  Then I will continue to work the pattern just as directed on the instructions.  My biggest problem right now that I foresee besides finding time to drag out my sewing machine is the slightly complicated instructions.  Be sure to read the instructions a few times before beginning kind of how you measure twice and cut once when working with wood.  Make sure you know what you are doing.  This pattern seems to be a little complicated in the way it does the pleats for the skirt.  But I will make my way.

Entry filed under: Projects, Sewing. Tags: , , , , .

Finishing Touches and Flea Market Finds Quick Craft #1

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Current Project

Project #2: Pleated Skirt

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


