Crafting and Stress Relief

January 31, 2011 at 10:02 pm Leave a comment

I once told a “mental health professional” that I used crafting as stress relief, but in hindsight I was not quite certain that it was the truth.  While most of the time I do find that crafting is pleasurable and relaxing, other times it is most definately not.  There is at times a strong sense of prefectionism that effects all crafters especially when it is producing gifts.  You want everything to be perfect and the person to tell you how great it is and how you’re “so crafty”. But isn’t crafting supposed to be a hobby, something that you enjoy.  Why is it that we put so much energy in making things perfect.

My biggest crafting problem is Scrapbooking.  There is just too much to it and so many tools.  Plus it is really too much stressing because you are making it to show off your photos.  When I first started scrapbooking way back when (when it wasn’t as complicated) I thought that my scrapbooks were awesome. But now you have to see these things…some people I know can spend days on just one damn page and it has to be just perfect.  No offense to scrapbookers but it is just too much stress for me.

But it is not only scrapbooking that can drive me wild. It can be anycraft and it is probably the reason that I have so many unfinished projects.  I get bored or it just isn’t turning out the way I wanted it too.  I get these great ideas in my head but sometimes they just cannot be put together right.  And of course, there is all ways the “I’m too busy” excuse and you put it off until you have time.  I have one such project that has been waiting for seven years! Just never got around to finishing it, but now I will. It will soon come up in one of my projects to get done.

Now if I could just get through the first project, the baby blanket.  I can see the end in sight, just a little more of the same: loop, twist, pull through, repeat.

Entry filed under: General. Tags: , , .

Crochet VS Knitting Stealing time to craft

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Current Project

Project #2: Pleated Skirt

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


