Project #1: Baby Blanket

January 29, 2011 at 2:01 pm Leave a comment

Okay, so my first unfinished project that I am going to take on is a baby blanket.  I started to crochet this blanket almost a month ago and was supposed to gift it at the baby shower.  Well, nonetheless, I didn’t finish it in time for the baby shower.  But I thought well I have a few weeks to finish it before the baby was born and This weekend I was going to work feveriously on it to get it finished by the due date.

Long story short, baby came early! So now I really need to finish it.  Here is a picture of my progress as of Friday.  It is not even half way done.

And this is after a few weeks work.  It should not take that long, but as you shall come to see I am a major procrastinator.

So some info on this project.  It is crochet using a popcorn stitch.  Here is a close-up of the stitch.

I absolutely love this stitch. For those who like to crochet this is the way you make this stitch:

Popcorn St (multiple of 3 sts)
Foundation Row:
Work 2 dc in 3rd ch from hook, *sk 2 ch, (sc, 2 dc) in next ch; rep from * across, ending with sk 2 ch, 1 sc in last ch.
Row 1: Ch 2, turn. Work 2 dc in first sc, *sk 2 dc, (sc, 2 dc) in next sc; rep from * across, ending with 1 sc in top of turning ch.
Rep Row 1 for Popcorn st.

And if you don’t know how to crochet and would love to know how, you should visit Lion Brand Yarn’s website at www.lionbrandyarn.com.  They have a learning center for crochet and knitting plus tons of patterns to help you learn what all those abbreviations mean up there.

After I finish the body of the blanket with my beautiful lilac yarn, I will put a white border around it using the same stitch.  I am crossing my fingers that I will finish it in the next couple of days.  But in the meantime I did create a gift for the little girl in the form of an onesie which can be found on my finished projects page.

Now I have to get back to hooking:)

Entry filed under: Crochet, Projects. Tags: , .

In the beginning… Crochet VS Knitting

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Current Project

Project #2: Pleated Skirt

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


